Information Links

Subhd img 1
 

Information Links

Transit and Transportation Government Agencies

Capital Area Metropolitan Planning Organization - http://www.campo-nc.us/

Durham Chapel Hill Carrboro Metropolitan Planning Organization - http://www.dchcmpo.org

Federal Railroad Administration - www.fra.dot.gov

Norfolk Southern Railroads - www.nscorp.com

North Carolina Department of Transportation - www.ncdot.org

North Carolina Railroad (NCRR) - www.ncrr.com

North Carolina Department of Transportation Rail Division - www.bytrain.org

North Carolina Turnpike Authority - www.ncturnpike.org

Triangle J Council of Governments - http://www.tjcog.dst.nc.us/

Triangle Transit Authority (http://www.triangletransit.org/)

Transit-related Organizations 

American Public Transportation Association (APTA) - www.apta.com

Association of American Railroads - www.aar.org

Carolinas Association for Passenger Trains (CAPT) - www.trainweb.org

Center for Transportation Excellence - http://www.cfte.org/

High Speed Rail - http://www.sehsr.org/

North Carolina Public Transportation Association – www.nctransit.org

Progressive Railroading - www.progressiverailroading.com

Railway Association of North Carolina - http://www.ncrailways.org/

Reconnecting America – www.reconnectingamerica.org

Research Triangle Foundation - www.rtp.org

Regional Transportation Alliance - www.letsgetmoving.org/

Transportation for America –  www.t4america.org

WakeUP Wake County – www.wakeupwakecounty.org

Connecting to Transit

City of Raleigh Urban Design Center - http://www.raleigh-nc.org/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_0_0_306_200_0_43/http;/pt03/DIG_Web_Content/category/Business/Strategic_Planning/Urban_Design/Cat-Index.html

Complete Streets Coalition - http://www.completestreets.org/

North Carolina Rail-Trails, Inc. - http://www.ncrail-trails.org/

Rails to Trails Conservancy - www.railtrails.org

Transit Oriented Development - http://www.transitorienteddevelopment.org/

Urban Design - http://www.urbandesign.org/newdeal2009.html

Plans and Studies

Multi-modal Transit Plans

Chapel Hill Long Range Transit Plan - http://www.ci.chapel-hill.nc.us/index.aspx?page=560

Joint CAMPO/DCHCMPO 2035 Transportation Plan - http://www.campo-nc.us/LRTP/2035/2035JointLRTP_3-24-09_publicreviewdraft_LT.pdf

Regional Transit Infrastructure Blueprint Technical Analysis Project - http://www.transitblueprint.org/blueprint.htm

Special Transit Advisory Commission Regional Transit Vision Plan - http://www.transitblueprint.org

Triangle Region Long Range Transportation Demand Management Plan. - http://www.triangletdmplan.com/

Triangle Transit Short Range Transit Plan. - http://www.triangletransit.org/srtp

Rail Studies

North Carolina Railroad Commuter Rail Capacity Study. - http://www.ncrr.com/capacity-study.html

Pedestrian and Bicycle Studies

Carrboro Comprehensive Bicycle Transportation Plan. - http://ci.carrboro.nc.us/PZI/PDFs/CompBicycleTransPlan09/ExecSumm.pdf

CORE Bicycle-Pedestrian-Greenspace Plan. - http://www.tjcog.dst.nc.us/regplan/core.shtml

Durham Comprehensive Bicycle Transportation Plan. - http://www.durhamnc.gov/departments/transportation/bike_plan.cfm

Durham Walks Pedestrian Plan. - http://www.ci.durham.nc.us/durhamwalks/index.cfm

GoTriangle Plans by town/city. http://www.gotriangle.org/bike-walk/planning-and-advocacy/

Roads & Corridor Studies

US 1 Corridor Study. - http://www.ncdot.org/projects/US1corridor/

NC 54- I-40 Corridor Study - http://www.nc54-i40corridorstudy.com/

NC 50 Corridor Study - http://www.kimley-horn.com/projects/nc50study/index.html

Online Discussions about Transit

Center for Neighborhood Technology - http://htaindex.cnt.org/

Center for Transportation Excellence - http://www.cfte.org/default.asp

Light Rail Now - http://www.lightrailnow.org/index.htm

The Transport Politic - http://www.thetransportpolitic.com/

United We Ride - http://www.unitedweride.gov/1_ENG_HTML.htm

US Secretary of Transportation Blog - http://fastlane.dot.gov/